Lee Jae-sung in Master's Program in Electronic Engineering

Receives AWAD 2021 Young Researcher Award

(From left) Professor Choi Woo-young, Department of Electronic Engineering, Lee Jae-sung, Master’s Program


Lee Jae-sung (supervisor prof. Choi Woo-young), a student in the master’s program in the Department of Electronic Engineering, received the Young Researcher Award at the Asia-Pacific Workshop on Fundamentals and Applications of Advanced Semiconductor Devices (AWAD), held from August 26 to 27, 2021, for his thesis. 

AWAD, which started in 1993 and celebrated its 28th anniversary this year, is an international conference on cutting-edge semiconductors held alternately in Korea and Japan. The Young Researcher Award is a special award given to excellent thesis presenters that year.

The title of Lee Jae-sung’s award-winning paper is “Nonvolatile Content-Addressable Memory using Nanoelectromechanical Memory Switches for Data-Intensive Computation”. In this thesis, for the first time in the world, Lee presented and analyzed a new content-addressable memory (CAM) structure using a nanoelectromechanical (NEM) device in order to overcome the existing CAM’s density and power efficiency limitations.

Schematic diagram of content-addressable memory (CAM) using nanoelectromechanical (NEM) device


The proposed CAM is about 67% smaller in area than the existing CAM and can perform high-speed and high-efficiency operations. It is expected to be implemented and applied in the fields of big data and artificial intelligence in the future.

Lee Jae-sung said, “This study’s success is all thanks to the encouragement and support of my supervisor professor. Using this award as motivation, I would like to grow further and contribute to the development of Korea’s semiconductor industry.”