Undergraduate Schools

Economics

Economics table
Location Geppert-Nam Duck Woo Hall #302
Telephone +82 2 705 8179
E-mail econdept@sogang.ac.kr
Homepage http://econ.sogang.ac.kr

Purpose of economics

The fundamental problems of economics are how economic agents make choices among scarce resources and how those choices affect society. Thus, choice (not money) is the unifying feature of what economics studies. It is a broad discipline that aims to understand past, interpret current, and predict future decisions.
Economics can be classified into two broad categories: microeconomics and macroeconomics. Microeconomics is the study of how individuals, households, firms, and governments make choices, and how these choices affect prices, allocation of resources, and wellbeing of people. Macroeconomics is the study of the economy as a whole and focus on phenomena such as the growth rate of a country’s economic output, the inflation rate, or the unemployment rate. In recent decades, many other specialized subfields are emerged such as labor economics, political economics, industrial organization, environmental economics, health economics, and behavioral economics to name a few. They all seek to answer various sets of questions:
• Why are some countries rich and some countries poor?
• Why do women earn less than men?
• How can data help us understand the world?
• Why do we ignore information that could help us make better decisions?
• How can countries coordinate to tackle the climate change problem?
• How to design an organ allocation mechanism to save more lives?

Sogang Economics

Since its foundation, Sogang Economics has played an important role in shaping Korea and its prosperity. Its outstanding alumni have taken important and prestigious roles in the society as public servants, government advisors, university professors, business consultants, and private sector professionals. Its carefully designed programs help students excel in necessary theoretical and empirical skills allowing them to achieve their career goals.
Sogang Economics’ proud and competent faculty teaches both undergraduate and graduate programs. While they stimulate their students’ analytical thinking to teach them how to meet theory with practice, they also serve the global intellectual community with their research published in prestigious journals.

Course Information    More >


Faculty

Faculty table
Name Areas of Specialization E-mail
Ahn, Taehyun Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics ahn83@sogang.ac.kr
Choi, In Time Series and Panel Data inchoi@gmail.com
Chun, Hyunbae Applied Microeconomics hchun@sogang.ac.kr
Chung, Chae-Shick International Finance, Financial Economics cschung@sogang.ac.kr
Heshmati, Almas Agricultural Economics, Industrial Economics, Applied Microeconomics heshmati@sogang.ac.kr
Hur, Jung International Trade ecsjhur@sogang.ac.kr
Iris, Haydar Doruk Behavioral Economics, Decision and Game Theory Applications dorukiris@sogang.ac.kr
Jeon, Seonghoon Industrial Organization jeonsh@sogang.ac.kr
Jung Kuk Mo Economics kmjung@sogang.ac.kr
Joo, Hayeon Empirical Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics hjoo@sogang.ac.kr
Kim, Doyoung Organizational Economics dkim@sogang.ac.kr
Kim, Hong-Kyun Public Finance, Environmental Economics hongkyun@sogang.ac.kr
Kim, Kyung-Hwan Urban Economics, State and Local Public Finance khkimsg@sogang.ac.kr
Kim, Young-Chul Applied Microeconomic Theory, Public Economics yckim@sogang.ac.kr
Kim, Albert Young-Il Applied Microeconomics, Labor Economics, Population Economics yakim@sogang.ac.kr
Kim, Yun Jung International Macroeconomics yunjungk@sogang.ac.kr
Kwark, Noh-Sun Macroeconomics, Financial Economics, International Finance/Open Economy Macroeconomics kwark@sogang.ac.kr
Lee, Hahn Shik Econometrics hahnlee@sogang.ac.kr
Lee, Jinkwon Microeconomics, Experimental Economics, Environmental Economics jlee22@sogang.ac.kr
Lee, Soohyung Labor/Public, Development, Family Economics, Market Design, Applied Econometrics soohlee@sogang.ac.kr
Lee, Yoonsoo Macroeconomics ylee@sogang.ac.kr
Lee, Young Hoon Econometrics, Sports Economics yhnlee@sogang.ac.kr
Nahm, Joonwoo Econometrics jnahm@sogang.ac.kr
Nam, Joo-Ha Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics namjh@sogang.ac.kr
Nam, Sung Il Labor Economics sina@sogang.ac.kr
Park, Jungsoo Macroeconomics/Growth, International Economics, Banking and Finance, Economics of Technological Change jspark@sogang.ac.kr
Sakong, Yong Agricultural and Resource Economics ysakong@sogang.ac.kr
Song, E Young International Trade eysong@sogang.ac.kr
Wang, Gyu Ho Microeconomics, Game Theory, Industrial Organization ghwang@sogang.ac.kr
Yi, Insill Public Finance insill723@sogang.ac.kr
Yi, Kang-Oh Microeconomics kyi@sogang.ac.kr